Lumosity: A Brain Changing Life Improver

Lumosity is a program that I just ran across. It has a one week free trial for which you must only surrender your email to engage. I have yet to be spammed but I only just signed up. I have a gut feeling they are going to screw my inbox but innocent until I get pissed and unsubscribe. So why did I sign up…

  • Clearer and quicker thinking
  • Improved memory for names, numbers, directions, etc.
  • Increased alertness and awareness
  • Elevated mood
  • Better concentration at work or while driving

According to their website I get or at least others have gotten these things in just 15 minutes a day over some period… hopefully before dementia sets in. (but who knows how smart you have to be to start with to get these results or it could be like one of those TV weight loss solutions where results shown are atypical like winning the lotto… and I gave these people my real email)

Now normally right about now depression sets in for me because I have wasted more than there allotted 15 minutes just signing up and finding out about the program BUT it is run by professors at Stanford AND has support from The New York Times, The Boston Globe, and hell even Martha Stuart is behind this one… if they had Opera I would blindly throw down my John Hancock for the lifetime subscription (yeah it’s not free after the initial week trial and actually its quite expensive)

So how does it work? Well Lumosity is a series of short mini games that remind me of something that a kid would play on a Nintendo DS. I took the liberty of playing every mini game they offer once (to be positive I’ll say that some of the games just might barely miss the cut for kids games… unfortunately those are the fun ones). Although I should say I generally don’t partake in crosswords, puzzles, Sudoku, etc because I don’t find these activities fun either.

Yet even after all of this I don’t feel like Lumosity owes me money (for beta testing or for my time or for any other multitude of reasons) because get this I think the program works! It’s obvious the benefits that the above bullet points would have in business, dating, socializing, and I’m going to go so far as to say in life in general so should you start your week trial or just sign on the line for the largest package you can afford?

Well I’m going to use the rest of my week trial and see how the program affects me. My initial concerns revolving around using the program are a very different bullet list from above

  • Migraines
  • Low Self Esteem (your rated on the program to chart progress but also to show you your incompetence to other users)
  • Lost Time
  • Depression
  • Post Traumatic Stress

And believe it or not those are just my concerns about using the product as intended for the trial period. At the end of the one week trial I will report back at which time I will relay my concerns of using this product long term and the effects I have noticed in my life.

Leave a Reply

